Noise-cancelling headphones over $100: what the extra money actually buys
Above $100, the extra money doesn't reliably buy a named cancellation topology: it buys battery life, water resistance and transparency modes, and here's what's actually stated for each.
Updated 4 Oct 2026 · no hands-on testing
The short answer
What the higher price bracket reliably adds, compared with our under-$100 roundup, is stated battery life, an IP water-resistance rating on some models, and a transparency mode on several: features that are simply absent from most of the cheaper tier's spec sheets, whether or not they're actually absent from the products.
What it does not reliably add is a named cancellation topology. For most of the products here we found no statement of whether their ANC is feedforward, feedback, hybrid or adaptive. Soundcore Space Q45, Sony WH-1000XM6, Soundcore Space One Pro and JBL Tune 780NC name "adaptive," and we found no topology named for any of the Bose entries here.
The picks

Adaptive cancellation with LDAC
$149.99 seen 22 Sep 2026; check the current price
Adaptive cancellation, stated as such, plus LDAC codec support. It was seen at $149.99 on 22 Sep 2026; check the current price.
Check price on AmazonPaid link — QuickDesker may earn a commission.
Earbuds with a stated transparency mode
$249 seen 1 Nov 2026; check the current price
An 8-hour ANC-on battery figure and a transparency mode Apple states directly. It was seen at $249 on 1 Nov 2026; check the current price. The cancellation topology itself isn't named: recorded as unspecified rather than assumed.
Check price on AmazonPaid link — QuickDesker may earn a commission.
Adaptive cancellation and a 30-hour figure
$458 seen 31 Oct 2026; check the current price
Adaptive cancellation, named as such, and a 30-hour battery figure that Bose QuietComfort Ultra Headphones (2nd Gen) matches exactly. Sony publishes driver and codec specifications for this model; check its current specifications for the details.
Check price on AmazonPaid link — QuickDesker may earn a commission.
Priciest, with spatial audio
$369 seen 10 Oct 2026; check the current price
The most expensive product in this bracket, with a stated 30-hour battery and spatial audio. It was seen at $369 on 10 Oct 2026; check the current price. Bose doesn't name a cancellation topology for this one either: the pattern holds across all four Bose entries in this article.
Check price on AmazonPaid link — QuickDesker may earn a commission.
Does a pricier headphone tell you more about its own cancellation?
Here it tells you less. A named topology turns up more often in the cheaper bracket than in this one, and the difference isn't about price: it's about which brands populate each bracket. Bose, which states "active noise cancelling" without ever naming a topology, is well represented in this price range; Soundcore and Sony, which do name one, are a smaller part of it than of the cheaper bracket. That side of the line is covered in Noise-cancelling headphones under $100: nine with verified specs and dated prices. Why the spec sheets run this thin at every price is taken apart in What do headphone specs actually mean? Frequency response, impedance and driver size.
Which features actually increase with price?
A stated battery life, most clearly, though the figures themselves don't climb with the price. JBL Tune 780NC, one of the cheaper entries here, quotes 50 hours with cancelling on and Soundcore Space One Pro quotes 40, against 30 for both Sony WH-1000XM6 and Bose QuietComfort Ultra Headphones (2nd Gen). The earbuds with a figure run shorter on a charge: Apple AirPods Pro 3 states 8 hours with ANC on and Bose QuietComfort Ultra Earbuds (2nd Gen) 6. Water resistance shows up too (including Samsung Galaxy Buds3 FE at IP54 and Bose QuietComfort Ultra Earbuds (2nd Gen) at IPX4), where the under-$100 bracket rarely states a rating at all.
Transparency mode (letting outside sound through on purpose, the opposite of cancellation) appears on Apple AirPods Pro 3, Bose QuietComfort Headphones, Bose QuietComfort Ultra Headphones (2nd Gen), JBL Tune 780NC and Soundcore Space One Pro. None of it is a claim about how well any of these actually cancel noise; we haven't listened to any of them.
Is premium cancelling mostly over-ear?
Not overwhelmingly. Five of the twelve are earbuds and seven are over-ear, close to even, which matters if you came here assuming premium ANC is mostly headband-style. The fuller answer on shape is Over-ear, on-ear or in-ear: which headphone shape should you actually get?
What features do these higher-priced ANC headphones offer?
| Product | Form | Cancellation named as | Price when seen | Where to buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| JBL Tune 780NC | Over-ear | Adaptive | $119.99 (seen 4 Oct 2026) | Check price on AmazonPaid link |
| Soundcore Space Q45 | Over-ear | Adaptive | $149.99 (seen 22 Sep 2026) | Check price on AmazonPaid link |
| Bose QuietComfort Earbuds | Earbuds | Active, topology not stated | $129 (seen 10 Oct 2026) | Check price on AmazonPaid link |
| JBL Tour One M2 | Over-ear | Active, topology not stated | $329.95 (seen 21 Sep 2026) | Check price on AmazonPaid link |
| Samsung Galaxy Buds3 FE | Earbuds | Active, topology not stated | $149.99 (seen 28 Oct 2026) | Check price on AmazonPaid link |
| Apple AirPods 4 with Active Noise Cancellation | Earbuds | Active, topology not stated | $119.97 (seen 1 Nov 2026) | Check price on AmazonPaid link |
| Soundcore Space One Pro | Over-ear | Adaptive | $169.99 (seen 22 Sep 2026) | Check price on AmazonPaid link |
| Apple AirPods Pro 3 | Earbuds | Active, topology not stated | $249 (seen 1 Nov 2026) | Check price on AmazonPaid link |
| Bose QuietComfort Headphones | Over-ear | Active, topology not stated | $169 (seen 10 Oct 2026) | Check price on AmazonPaid link |
| Bose QuietComfort Ultra Earbuds (2nd Gen) | Earbuds | Active, topology not stated | $299 (seen 10 Oct 2026) | Check price on AmazonPaid link |
| Sony WH-1000XM6 | Over-ear | Adaptive | $458 (seen 31 Oct 2026) | Check price on AmazonPaid link |
| Bose QuietComfort Ultra Headphones (2nd Gen) | Over-ear | Active, topology not stated | $369 (seen 10 Oct 2026) | Check price on AmazonPaid link |
Eight of the twelve read "Active, topology not stated" in the cancellation column, which means no topology was named on the pages we read for them.
Prices are what we saw on the dates shown, not live figures. A lot of them were promotional when we read them, so check the current price before you buy.
Paid link — QuickDesker may earn a commission.
Common questions
- Does more expensive mean better noise cancelling?
We can't tell you: none of these has been on anybody's head here, so we have no basis for ranking cancellation quality at any price. What we can tell you is what each product states about itself, which is what the table above shows.
- What's the difference between ANC and transparency mode?
ANC cancels outside sound before it reaches your ear. Transparency mode does the opposite: it lets outside sound through on purpose, usually through the same microphones, so you can hear someone talk to you without removing the headphones. Five products on this page state a transparency mode; we found no statement either way for the rest.
- Is the under-$100 bracket actually worse specified?
Not uniformly. It names a cancellation topology more often than this bracket does, but this bracket states battery life and water resistance more consistently. The full breakdown of that side is in Noise-cancelling headphones under $100: nine with verified specs and dated prices.
- Why doesn't Bose name its cancellation topology?
We don't know: that's a question for Bose, not something we can answer from a product page. What we can tell you is that every Bose entry on this page says "active noise cancelling" without naming feedforward, feedback, hybrid or adaptive, consistently.
What this is based on
We have not tested these products. The comparisons use manufacturer specifications and retailer information, with sources linked below. Prices are dated snapshots and may have changed.
Every price, spec and cancellation-topology claim on this page comes from the manufacturer's own product page or a retailer listing, read and recorded on 2026-08-16, linked below.
Not one of these twelve products has been worn by anybody working on this site. Every claim here is what's published, not a comparison of how well anything actually cancels noise.
Whether a product names its cancellation topology was read from that manufacturer's own product page, and a page that names none is recorded as naming none rather than assigned a likely one.
Sources (34)
- Apple: AirPods 4 with Active Noise Cancellation - Tech Specs (Apple Support) (Manufacturer, read 17 Sep 2026)
- Apple: AirPods Pro 3 - Apple (Manufacturer, read 17 Sep 2026)
- Apple: AirPods Pro 3 - Technical Specifications - Apple (Manufacturer, read 17 Sep 2026)
- Best Buy: Apple AirPods Pro 3, Wireless Active Noise Cancelling Earbuds with Heart Rate Sensing Feature, White (Best Buy listing) (Retailer, read 6 Oct 2026)
- Best Buy: Bose QuietComfort Earbuds, Petal Pink (Best Buy listing) (Retailer, read 10 Oct 2026)
- Best Buy: Bose QuietComfort Headphones, Black (Best Buy listing) (Retailer, read 10 Oct 2026)
- Best Buy: Bose QuietComfort Ultra Earbuds (2nd Gen), Black (Best Buy listing) (Retailer, read 10 Oct 2026)
- Best Buy: Bose QuietComfort Ultra Headphones (2nd Gen), Black (Best Buy listing) (Retailer, read 10 Oct 2026)
- Best Buy: JBL Tune 780NC Bluetooth wireless over-the-ear noise cancelling headphones, Black (Best Buy listing) (Retailer, read 4 Oct 2026)
- Best Buy: Samsung Galaxy Buds3 FE, Gray (Best Buy listing) (Retailer, read 4 Oct 2026)
- Best Buy: Sony - WH-1000XM6- Best Wireless Noise Cancelling Headphones - Black (Retailer, read 16 Aug 2026)
- Best Buy: Soundcore Space One Pro, Cream White (Best Buy listing) (Retailer, read 22 Sep 2026)
- Bose: Bose QuietComfort Headphones Owner's Guide (PDF) (Manufacturer, read 17 Sep 2026)
- Bose: Bose QuietComfort Headphones product page (Bose US) (Manufacturer, read 17 Sep 2026)
- Bose: Bose Unveils the Next Generation of the QuietComfort Ultra Headphones (pressroom) (Manufacturer, read 17 Sep 2026)
- Bose: Product Specification | Bose QuietComfort Ultra Earbuds (2nd Gen) (support) (Manufacturer, read 17 Sep 2026)
- Bose: Product Specifications | Bose QuietComfort Earbuds (support) (Manufacturer, read 17 Sep 2026)
- Bose: Product Specifications | Bose QuietComfort Headphones (support) (Manufacturer, read 17 Sep 2026)
- Bose: Product Specifications | Bose QuietComfort Ultra Headphones (2nd Gen) (support) (Manufacturer, read 17 Sep 2026)
- Bose: QuietComfort Earbuds product page (Bose US) (Manufacturer, read 17 Sep 2026)
- Bose: QuietComfort Ultra Earbuds (2nd Gen) product page (Bose US) (Manufacturer, read 17 Sep 2026)
- Bose: QuietComfort Ultra Headphones (2nd Gen) product page (Bose US) (Manufacturer, read 17 Sep 2026)
- JBL: Headphones (store listing) (Manufacturer, read 16 Aug 2026)
- JBL: JBL Tune 780NC Spec Sheet (English, PDF) (Manufacturer, read 21 Sep 2026)
- JBL: JBL Tune 780NC wireless over-ear noise cancelling headphones (product page and specifications) (Manufacturer, read 21 Sep 2026)
- Samsung: All about the Galaxy Buds3, Buds3 Pro, and Buds3 FE (support article) (Manufacturer, read 21 Sep 2026)
- Samsung: Galaxy Buds3 FE product page (Samsung US) (Manufacturer, read 21 Sep 2026)
- Samsung Newsroom: Samsung Introduces Galaxy Buds3 FE With Iconic Design, Enhanced Sound and Galaxy AI Integration (Manufacturer, read 21 Sep 2026)
- Sony: WH-1000XM6 specifications (Manufacturer, read 30 Aug 2026)
- Soundcore: Over Ear Headphones (store listing) (Manufacturer, read 16 Aug 2026)
- Soundcore: Space One Pro FlexiCurve Over-Ear Headphone (product page and specifications) (Manufacturer, read 22 Sep 2026)
- Soundcore: Space One Pro Headphones FAQ (Manufacturer, read 22 Sep 2026)
- Soundcore: Space One Pro user guide, A3062 (PDF) (Manufacturer, read 22 Sep 2026)
- Walmart: Apple AirPods 4 with Active Noise Cancellation, White (Walmart listing) (Retailer, read 6 Oct 2026)
Related guides
Build your setup
Compare keyboards, mice and headphones in the setup builder, then save the combination you like. Prefer a list? Browse all products.